Opt in to receive text messages

Opt in to receive text messages
Posted on 10/29/2021
Cell phone image with text message

The Anacortes School District uses text messaging as an additional communication tool to alert families and staff about closures, emergencies, and other important (timely) updates.  

If you would like to opt in to receive text messages, there are a few simple steps to take: 


1. What to do now? If you want to receive text messages, confirm that your school has your accurate cell phone number. Log into your Skyward Family Access Account and review your "My Account" information. If your cell number is not accurate, you can update your information through Skyward Family Access. If you are a current or past district employee, please contact Human Resources to make updates. 


If you don’t know your Skyward login, you can reset your password through Skyward Family Access. Click on “Forgot your login/ password?” This will prompt you to enter your email address to reset your password. The system will take 5-7 minutes to send you a new password.



2. Next steps
Once you have verified that your mobile number is correct, you must “opt in” to receive the district’s notifications.

3. From your mobile phone, text “Y” or “Yes” to 67587 to opt in, or scan the QR code located on this flyerMore information on our text message system can be found here

4. Test Day - Dec 1. 
The district will send a test text message on Dec. 1. 


FAQs

Q. What if I want my student to receive text messages from the school?

  1. You will need to provide their mobile number in your Skyward Family Access Account and your student will also need to opt in (text Y to 67587) from their mobile phone.

Q. What kinds of messages will be communicated?

  1. Currently, we only plan to communicate emergency, school closures, and important timely updates.

Q. What if I don’t want to receive texts? Will I still know if school is closed?

  1. The district will use text in addition to its other methods of communication: Flash Alert, email, website, Facebook, Twitter, and robocalls.

Q. What if I decide that I no longer want to receive texts?

  1. Text “stop” to 67587

Q. What if I already receive texts? 
A. You don't need to do anything. 


School contacts:

Anacortes High School: Carol Kirkpatrick - ckirkpatrick@asd103.org or (360) 503-1331

Cap Sante High School: Diele Harrold - dharrold@asd103.org or (360) 503-1365

Anacortes Middle School: Aimee Rudge - arudge@asd103.org or (360) 503-1232

Fidalgo Elementary: Kristie Calvert - kcalvert@asd103.org or (360) 503-1603

Island View Elementary: Heidi Parker - hparker@asd103.org or (360) 503-1489

Mt. Erie Elementary: Melissa Reeder - mreeder@asd103.org or (360) 503-1500

Whitney: Andrea Frost - afrost@asd103.org or (360) 503-1428


Other questions? Contact Torhil Ramsay in the Superintendent’s Office (360) 503-1211 or tramsay@asd103.org.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.