Text messaging for families - opt in now

Text messaging for families - opt in now
Posted on 11/07/2018
Text messaging

The Anacortes School District will begin using text messaging as an additional communication tool to alert families and staff about closures and emergencies.

If you would like to opt in to receive text messages, there are a few simple steps to take: 


1. What to do now? Confirm that your school has your accurate mobile phone number, if you want to receive text messages. Log into your Skyward Family Access Account. If your mobile number is not accurate, you can update your information through Skyward Family Access.


If you don’t know your Skyward login, you can reset your password through Skyward Family Access. Click on “Forgot your login/ password?” This will prompt you to enter your email address to reset your password. The system will take 5-7 minutes to send you a new password.



2. Next steps
Once you have verified that your mobile number is correct, you must “opt in” to receive the district’s notifications.

3. From your mobile phone, text “Y” or “Yes” to 67587 to opt in, or scan the QR code located on this flyer. Please opt in by November 30. More information on our text message system can be found here

4. Wait for Text Message Test Day

The district will send a test text message on
Monday, December 3 at 10 a.m. If you opted in, but didn’t receive this text message, please contact your school directly to confirm that your mobile number is correct.


FAQs

Q. What if I want my student to receive text messages from the school?

  1. You will need to provide their mobile number in your Skyward Family Access Account and your student will also need to opt in (text Y to 67587) from their mobile phone.

Q. What kinds of messages will be communicated?

  1. Currently, we only plan to communicate emergency and school closure information.

Q. What if I don’t want to receive texts? Will I still know if school is closed?

  1. The district will use text in addition to its other methods of communication: Flash Alert, email, website, Facebook, Twitter, and robocalls.

Q. What if I decide that I no longer want to receive texts?

  1. Text “stop” to 67587


School contacts:

Anacortes High School: Kim Kitchen kkitchen@asd103.org or (360) 503-

Cap Sante High School: Diele Harrold - dharrold@asd103.org or (360) 503-1365

Anacortes Middle School: Vicki Evans - vevans@asd103.org or (360) 503-1232

Fidalgo Elementary: Kristie Calvert - kcalvert@asd103.org or (360) 503-1603

Island View Elementary: Heidi Parker - hparker@asd103.org or (360) 503-1489

Mt. Erie Elementary: Stephanie Rice - srice@asd103.org or (360) 503-1457

Whitney: Beth Reddy - ereddy@asd103.org or (360) 503-1428


Other questions? Contact Torhil Ramsay in the Superintendent’s Office (360) 503-1211 or tramsay@asd1032.org.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.